You signed in with another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You signed out in another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You switched accounts on another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.Dismiss alert
{{ message }}
Repository navigation
RTC: [Transport] Explore better handling of the collaborators list on refresh #75648
When a collaborator refreshes a post they are editing, they will temporarily show up twice in the collaborators list until their "ghost session" times out. We should explore better ways of handling this and involve design (cc @dabowman).
changed the title [-][Real-time collaboration] Explore better handling of the collaborators list on refresh[/-][+]RTC: [Transport] Explore better handling of the collaborators list on refresh[/+]on Feb 23, 2026
This has been improved by #75883 by explicitly removing users using the pagehide event. Here's how it looks now:
refresh-cursors-fixed.mov
There's still a 5-second delay on the second user to remove a ghost cursor, but it's much faster than the awareness timeout alone. In normal network circumstances the disconnect signal should reach the server before the refreshing user loads the page, so they are unlikely to see their own ghost cursor at all.
Activity
chriszarate commentedon Feb 23, 2026
We can:
onbeforeunloadlistener.[-][Real-time collaboration] Explore better handling of the collaborators list on refresh[/-][+]RTC: [Transport] Explore better handling of the collaborators list on refresh[/+]alecgeatches commentedon Feb 25, 2026
This has been improved by #75883 by explicitly removing users using the
pagehideevent. Here's how it looks now:refresh-cursors-fixed.mov
There's still a 5-second delay on the second user to remove a ghost cursor, but it's much faster than the awareness timeout alone. In normal network circumstances the disconnect signal should reach the server before the refreshing user loads the page, so they are unlikely to see their own ghost cursor at all.
alecgeatches commentedon Feb 25, 2026
Going to close this for now, as it's much improved. We can reopen if this does not address user confusion.