Skip to content

Removal of books from a shelf can remove more books than intended #5728

Description

@someplace53

Describe the Bug

If a user removes the a book from a shelf, where he/she cannot see all books, the books which are not seen will be removed, if the shelf is saved.

Steps to Reproduce

there might be bit to many permissions, but this works:

  1. create a role role_a with following permissions: 'manage permissions on own books, chapter & pages'; Shelfs: View (own, all), Edit (own, all); Books: Create, View (own), Edit (own, all), Delete (own)
  2. create a user_a, who is part of role_a
  3. create a user_b, without roles
  4. create a shelf "test_shelf"
  5. create 2 books ("book_a" and "book_b") and put them into "test_shelf"
  6. change the ownership of book_b to user_b
  7. login as user_a
  8. go to test_shelf (only one book should be visible) and click edit
  9. remove book_a from the shelf and save
  10. verify with another account (admin?) that the shelf is empty

If needed I can provide a db dump for this scenario (~60kb)

Expected Behaviour

If I remove a book from a shelf, I would expect that only that book will be removed, not other books I am not aware of, too.

Screenshots or Additional Context

No response

Browser Details

No response

Exact BookStack Version

v24.12.1, v25.5.02

Activity

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    Type

    No type

    Projects

    No projects

      Milestone

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions